top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJill Walsh

ITL 528 4B Reflection

I assessed learning during my 5-day learning map through several means. I used Kahoot and Plikers quizzes, and whole group discussion as pre-assessments. For the day that I taught, I used maps to connect to prior knowledge before students made their own maps. I think that this went well and I would do it again. I might use quizlet as an alternative to Kahoot in the future. The formative assessment for the day that I taught was a map of Roman cities in Europe. It was for the purpose of putting the size and spread of the Roman empire in focus. It was also to show how so much of modern Europe has roots in the Roman empire, thus connecting it to what they will learn in the next module. I think I would change this because several students had problems with finding the modern names of the Roman cities. In future I would provide the names of the European cities as well as websites that would help them match them. Students didn’t use the internet in savvy way that I expected digital natives to use it. So I need to provide stronger scaffolds for that part of it. I would also change this to provide an option to complete the map as a Google map for those who want that challenge. Otherwise, I will keep the existing accommodations for the rest of the unit.

What went well in the instruction was their understanding of the trade routes and appreciation for the integral role the Roman empire played in the development of Europe through its cities. I would say that what I needed to improve on was giving students more time to complete this with more robust helps for those who needed it. I might use two class periods to complete the final map next time.

50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why are rules important in a classroom?

Rules create healthy and safe environments in which all children can learn. Middle school and high school students have come to expect certain rules; therefore, I will not make them with students but

How can I as a new teacher get all students to engage?

That is not an easy question to answer! First I think we have to accept that engaging all learners in all learning activities is a very challenging goal. Nevertheless, I should aim for that goal while

bottom of page